0 votes
in CRE Form 1 by
Seven stages of Bible translation

1 Answer

0 votes
  1. The Old Testament was originally written in Hebrew and a few parts in Aramaic
    • The original (70) translators (Septuaginta) did the first translation of the Bible from the original Hebrew into Greek.
    • This translation was known as the Septuagint.
  2. The second translation around 4th Century was spearheaded by a Christian scholar called Jerome.
    • This translation was called vulgate.
    • The translation was used up until the 16th century
  3. In the 16th Century; after the reformation (Religious changes in Europe by Protestants who wanted to break apart from catholic teachings), many countries translated the Bible into their own languages e.g.
    • Translation of the Bible into English (King James Version).
    • Translation of the Bible into German (by Martin Luther).
  4. During the missionary era, the Bible had to be translated into the languages of people being evangelized.
    • The British and Foreign Bible Society was founded in 1804 to coordinate all the translation functions.
  5. In East Africa, Johann Ludwig Krapf translated the New Testament into Kiswahili.
  6. The first translation of the complete Bible into some African language in East Africa was into Luganda in 1896
  7. In Kenya, the Bible has been translated into the following African languages;
    • ​Kikuyu – 1951.
    • Kamba – 1956.
    • Dholuo – 1963.
    • Kalenjin – 1968.
    • Luhya   - 1957.

Related questions

0 votes
0 answers
asked Mar 17 in CRE Form 1 by 0719100XXX
0 votes
1 answer
0 votes
5 answers
asked Mar 15, 2022 in CRE Form 1 by Timhyde2006
Welcome to EasyElimu Questions and Answers, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.


5.5k questions

6.7k answers


590 users